Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Easter everyone!!!

So today I got this urge to be creative therefor I had a lot going on at the same time (which I do most of the time anyway)

First I decided that I was longing to see the roving spun up that I painted with Janice (and her husband) last Wednesday, let me remind you how it looked before…

That came out so pretty with the purple spots in the pink…now the hard part what is it going to be or am I going to spin it up for my Etsy Store. Hmmm…first I am going to spin it up and I am not sure if I will ply it yet. This is the result: 100 yards of this gorgeous yarn spun up on my Mach II (Spinolution) wheel.

While spinning it, the way the bobbin wound the yarn it looked like Easter eggs to me…do you see what I see or am I going nuts πŸ˜‰

As I was spinning I decide to dye some superwash and some locks in seperate dye baths after one another. Here are some pictures of the before and after:

THE DYE PROCESS:

The drying outside…

love how the light colors pop…

Here are the locks too:

So let me think what did I do else…

oh yes, I soaked/washed part of the Icelandic Fleece. As you can see in the picture…VERY DIRTY but no worries it will come out beautiful and smelling great. A few more days and the whole fleece, that is not washed yet, will be clean and ready to get picked. I will keep you posted on the process πŸ™‚

I carded up a beautiful art batt of merino wool, mohair and some locks from Namaste Farms. If that doesn’t give you the “summer is coming” feeling, I am wondering what will πŸ™‚

Now I couldn’t wait so I started spinning it up of course:

Oops…that’s my wheel and the batt on top of the bobbin (yarn)…sorry LOL πŸ™‚

2nd try…

This really looks so pretty tailspun up on a orange core (cashmere wool blend thread). Since you all wanna see how I do this all I will show you my set up with my wheel:

Don’t you love that iron (VERY HEAVY) flower that prevents my smaller cones from walking away or falling over. I use it mainly for my sewing machine in case I need to use large cones.

This was my creative Easter Sunday day, hope you enjoyed the story and the picture and please feel free to contact me with whatever question you have!!!

Now I have to work on my never ending flower throw…remember this one:

Bye for now and thank you for reading my blog!!!

BTW we broke the July 2011 record on most hits yesterday!!! Guess you all enjoy my creative blog but don’t forget to visit my Etsy Store and support this artist!!! TY!!!

